Baker Mayfield claims Davey O’Brien Award

  • Grant McGalliard
  • Diehards
Dec 07, 2017

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield is the winner of the 2017 Davey O’Brien Award, given out on Thursday at the College Football Awards Show at the College Football Hall of Fame.

The award “honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics.” It is limited to quarterbacks across the country.

Mayfield beat out fellow seniors J.T. Barrett of Ohio State and Mason Rudolph of Oklahoma State for the honor. The Sooners’ signal-caller set a national record for passing efficiency and posted 41 touchdowns against just five interceptions.

Mayfield is the third Oklahoma quarterback to claim the Davey O’Brien Award. Jason White won in back-to-back years in 2003 and 2004, while Sam Bradford earned the title in 2008.

Earlier today, Mayfield won the Walter Camp Player of the Year and Associated Press Player of the Year awards. He is in line for the Maxwell Award, which will be given out later tonight.

The post Baker Mayfield claims Davey O’Brien Award appeared first on Diehards.