You have reached your limit of free articles this month.

Enjoy unlimited access to myStatesman.com

Starting at just 99¢ for 8 weeks.

GREAT REASONS TO SUBSCRIBE TODAY!

  • IN-DEPTH REPORTING
  • INTERACTIVE STORYTELLING
  • NEW TOPICS & COVERAGE
  • ePAPER
X

You have read of premium articles.

Get unlimited access to all of our breaking news, in-depth coverage and bonus content- exclusively for subscribers. Starting at just 99¢ for 8 weeks

X

Welcome to myStatesman.com

This subscriber-only site gives you exclusive access to breaking news, in-depth coverage, exclusive interactives and bonus content.

You can read free articles of your choice a month that are only available on myStatesman.com.

Wipe your info off your old iPhone before you recycle it


A reader emailed this week: “I have accumulated models of the iPhone ranging from the very first model through the iPhone 6. It seems a waste to have them sitting around collecting dust, so I’ve decided to get rid of them. I am very leery about donating/sending a phone to someone not knowing if I’ve properly ‘cleaned’ the phone before getting rid of it.

“Is there a simple method for making sure all my data has been removed from a phone before disposing of it?”

There are a few settings you should address before getting rid of any iPhone.

Of course, the age of the phone and the features available to that phone’s version of the operating system might not apply to everyone.

You’ll want to make sure you have the data from the phone backed up — either on your computer through iTunes or wirelessly through iCloud.

You’ll also want to make sure you have your phone’s pictures backed up somewhere. Connecting it to a computer should give you an opportunity to save the pictures through your computer’s default photo app.

Log off of services like iMessage and FaceTime and sign out of iCloud.

Then go to the App store on the phone and sign out.

Finally, open the Settings, go to General, choose Reset, and then Erase All Content and Settings.

This will wipe it and leave it factory fresh for the next user.

You can also connect the phone to your computer with the charging cable and use iTunes to restore to factory settings if you like.

It’s very important to sign out of iCloud before you restore, which should prompt you to turn off Find My iPhone.

If you leave iCloud logged in and leave Find My iPhone turned on, you’ll be disabling the phone for the next user. This is by design as it’s a deterrent to theft.

———

ABOUT THE WRITER

Jim Rossman writes for The Dallas Morning News. He may be reached at jrossman@dallasnews.com.



Reader Comments ...


Next Up in Technology

Task force: Raise hotel tax to pay for convention center expansion
Task force: Raise hotel tax to pay for convention center expansion

A city task force is recommending that the Austin City Council vote to expand the convention center downtown and pay for the $609 million addition with a 2-cent hike in the city’s hotel occupancy tax, the group’s chairman said. The 2-cent increase would create about $24 million a year, said James Russell, who led the Visitor Impact Task...
Ride-hailing services Lyft, Uber return to Austin on Monday
Ride-hailing services Lyft, Uber return to Austin on Monday

Ride-hailing services Uber and Lyft say they will return to Austin on Monday. Drivers who have worked for Lyft in the past were notified of the company’s return in a text message sent Thursday morning, while an Uber spokesman confirmed his company’s return in an email to the American-Statesman. Lyft and Uber pulled out of Austin a year...
Business Digest: U.S. jobless claims edge upward

ECONOMY U.S. jobless claims edge upward WASHINGTON — Slightly more people sought U.S. unemployment benefits last week, but jobless claims remained at historically low levels. Applications for weekly unemployment aid rose 1,000 to 234,000, the Labor Department said Thursday. The four-week average, a less volatile figure, fell 5,750 to 235,250...
Ride-hailing services Lyft, Uber return to Austin Monday
Ride-hailing services Lyft, Uber return to Austin Monday

Ride-hailing services Uber and Lyft say they will return to Austin Monday. Drivers who have worked for Lyft in the past were notified of the company’s return in a text message sent Thursday morning, while an Uber spokesman confirmed his company’s return in an email to the American-Statesman. Lyft and Uber pulled out of Austin a year...
Resetting your Apple ID password can be tricky

I got a call from my mother-in-law this week. She usually doesn’t call me directly unless she has a technology problem, and this time, it was a good one. It seems her iPad and her iPhone were both in a state of wanting her Apple ID password, and they were telling her the account was locked and to proceed she needed to reset the password. This...
More Stories